Kuya J Restaurant

3 Jul

Sorry for the lack of fancy title for this post. As you guys know I have been busy with the new job so I am speed posting all the stuff I want to feature because there are a lot. There’s still a compulsory need to post one on each of my other blogs but I’m saving that for later.

Kuya J Restaurant

OK. Back to the topic, I was pleased when my friends said we were having dinner at Kuya J. It’s my new favorite place to really make a guilt-free pigout session. They have come a long way from being that white house on the block. They aren’t quite popular yet, but if you really want food that’s light on the budget then you’ve come to the right place.

Inner Room At Kuya J

Unlike other Filipino restaurants, Kuya J doesn’t have any remarkable dish, so I’d like to come up with some of my own favorites. Their scallops are to die for! I’d scrape the last bit off the shell :) and the crispy kangkong is indeed very crispy. You don’t get a lot of that in other restaurants, except Cafe Laguna. What’s unique at Kuya J is their “platter” which you can choose from either pork or seafood. And I bet you seafood here is way cheaper.

We always make it a point to order the seafood soup which always reminds me of tom yum goong without the coconut milk. Their humba is cooked to perfection that i can chew on the skin and not have the urge to spit it out. Exactly how it was done by my late lola and aunt. I haven’t tried much of

Calamares

their food yet but I will be more than willing to come back for more in the days to come. Why shouldn’t you? Imagine we only got to pay under PhP 1,000 for 2 platters of rice, 1 serving of humba, 1 serving of seafood soup, 1 serving of tuna bicol express (which was, IMHO so-so), 1 serving of calamares, 1 serving of mixed vegetables and a pitcher of iced tea.

Rating:

Food: 10/10 – I don’t know with you guys but of all filipino restaurants I have eaten in, this one IS my best! Food is cooked to perfection even on a busy day. Other restaurants seem to forget their cooking techniques on a busy hour. But I’ve been there twice and I’ve never complained.

Tuna Bicol Express

Value for Money: 10/10. Definitely one of those places that won’t leave your pockets empty when you leave. It’s great for big family dinners where you allow them to order all they want. :)

Service: 9.5/10 - almost perfect but not quite. There are waitresses who don’t offer their smiles to the customers. Well maybe it is a bad day for them but hey,

Humba

it’s a food service business, at least they should give their customers even that quick smile.

Cleanliness and Ambiance: 9/10 - place is spotless clean but the outside part tends to be very humid on a hot day.

Plus, there are two other restaurants in front of the place who more or less offer almost the same menu.  I love how they did the interior decor though :) I think they just renovated the place and it really looks good and feels cozy. Love the chairs too! They made sure there were rubber tips on all four legs of the chair to avoid any accidents. :)

Mixed Vegetables

Update: February 11, 2013

They’re now located at: Tojong St., Lahug, Cebu City

Like them on Facebook :
Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 481 other followers

