Bittersweet Pastry Shop

3 Jul

maybe I should get used to these posts that really put the focus on the restaurant/cafe? I kinda like it. still part of the bulk posting 🙂 NOTE: when i say we in my posts, i meant my friends and i. they help me collect experiences for my blogs.

Bittersweet Pastry Shop


Well, I believe it’s always worth to give each thing a second try. That was what I did for Bittersweet Pastry Shop and indeed the second visit was worth it. Good cheesecakes are hard to come by in Cebu. One of the best ones I have tasted (Tita Julie Tudtud makes the best!) were from

Blueberry Cheesecake

Bittersweet. We came back because of their blueberry cheesecake, even with the cupcake incident.

Their store is at ABG building, Osmena Blvd, just across CDUH. It’s hard to miss, just between Manila Foodshoppe and that pharmacy, i forgot the name 😦

For one, cheesecakes are hard to do, if you really wanna do them right. At this pastry shop, it’s just a good balance between sweet, salty and tangy.

They know exactly how to gauge all ingredients when it comes to these sweets.

Pistachio Sansrival

We also tried other sweets like the sylvannas, pistachio sansrival, chocolate decadent cake and the caramel cheesecake (sorry if i missed the right name. i have forgotten them already).

Compared to the last time we went there, we finished off the sweets from our saucers in no time! They tasted better this time. Unlike the first time we came, although the cheesecakes were good, the cupcakes were too dry. The red velvet cupcake didn’t taste good AT ALL! But hey, there are other good stuff in this humble little place. Plus, it’s very cozy and the interior design is SUPERB! I could spend the whole day here with my laptop since they have FREE WIFI 🙂 I guess some things are really worth the second try 🙂

Sweets Anyone?

Ratings:

Food: 8/10 – This one’s an average rating of the first and second visit. Sweets are hit and miss, especially when you have just started out with commercial pastries. I guess the first visit didn’t go too well, but with the second one, I had a blast.

Inside Bittersweet

Value for Money: 9/10 – it’s better priced than most pastry shops. Cheesecakes here come way cheap, but not too cheap. The pistachio sans rival was priced at 95/slice which was kind of pricey, but I know pistachios are expensive.

If you’ve come a long way just to check them out, then maybe you would have better waited when you had something important to do in the area. Not worth the travel 😛

Upside Down Goblet Centerpiece

Service: 5/10 –on this part I’d have to be honest. Service sucks! Part of the experience is getting the best customer service. I’ve experienced worse somewhere else but I understand them, they were busy. But this place rarely gets packed on weekdays so, I guess there is no reason for the

sole waitress to slack. If it weren’t for the cozy atmosphere, we would have bolted out because of lousy service on both occasions. The service is very slow. Service water wasn’t ice cold 😦

Cleanliness and Ambiance: 10/10 – the interior design is very chic and cozy at the same time. ample seating space plus a very comfortable couch. centerpieces were artfully made from a goblet that was turned upside down and made into a candle holder. IMPRESSIVE! this place is very clean and spacious.

Care for more?

Update: September 3, 2014

This is way overdue, but they’re already closed I think – well at least the one across Cebu Doctor’s Hospital/ beside Manila Foodshoppe. Sad sad 😦

6 Responses to “Bittersweet Pastry Shop”

  1. Chyrel Gomez (@thechyrelgomez) August 8, 2011 at 11:48 am #

    I’ve always passed by this cafe but never had the time to drop by. I really love your food blog. 🙂

    WIll try some places you posted.

    • kategracea August 10, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

      hi cheryl! thanks im glad you liked it. there are still a lot to post so keep following and spread the word 🙂 thanks

  2. Sandra Sabrina Ybañez Santiago November 16, 2011 at 3:18 am #

    I love their chocolate decadent Katie. They used to have red velvet cake and it is the best red velvet cake I’ve tasted! I dunno what went wrong with your cupcake incident. I will visit them again soon 🙂

    • kategracea November 16, 2011 at 4:20 pm #

      i dunno sands, that was the hardest cupcake i have ever tasted. we abandoned it gud hehe 🙂 thanks for liking the page!

  3. Mayette August 14, 2012 at 1:32 am #

    The best blueberry cheesecake in town.

Leave a Reply

