Tandoori (Persian Palate)

11 Aug

Fancy Some Indian Food?

so i’m the type of foodie who’s not afraid of trying some new stuff. i’ve always wanted to try indian food because i love curry. as much as it smells foul to some people, i like curry on my food. but contrary to what most people think, indian food is not only about curry. it’s how the spices play well with each other creating one gastronomic explosion in your mouth (i guess, i do watch too much TLC).

Not long ago, I discovered Tandoori at the Parkmall.  I tried this along with my Japanese students and i fell in love with the place. It’s part of the Persian Palate enterprise.

Step Inside Tandoori - IT Park

They have numerous other restaurants around Cebu, but most of their dishes are the same. There’s one too at Skyrise 1 at IT Park, but I was disappointed to see the lack of dishes that wanted to eat when I visited.

True enough, every experience at an Indian/Mediterranean restaurant is worth spreading the word for. It’s quite frightening at first and is not for the faint of heart. Spices are so rich and their most basic ingredients are lamb, beef, chicken, vegetables and spices (lots of them).

Musaka - Fave!

Everything seems perfect from appetizers to desserts. So far, I’ve always been a fan of their Musaka that resembles a pizza. Surprisingly, the best thing about is in not the meat at the center, but the eggplant that spread as base. Then there’s the hummus, which is actually bland when they put it in front of you, and all you have to do is season it. Their lamb dishes are also good, but again lamb has a certain smell to it that doesn’t suit everyone well. Their lamb curry is to die for.

On my latest trip to Tandoori, my friends and I tried their Musaka, Kebab Platter, Chicken and Spinach Curry,and Paella.

It was something new for my friends. Too bad the selections at Tandoori IT Park were different from Parkmall, but it was the same flavorful taste. The Musaka was a hit, and they never expected that the Nan was just as satisfying as rice. Needless to say everyone was filled up to the brim at the end of the meal. Everyone had a sip of my favorite mango lassi as well (although the small glass and the lack of ice almost upset me here).

Paella - was ok, but never was a fan

One thing I regretted about choosing the IT Park branch was the space was not that big and the menu was not even half of what Parkmall had to offer. Both branches also offer shisha pipes (?) for those who want to give it a try. Most of their dishes are good for groups because of their servings.

REVIEW:

Food: 8/10 I’m not an Indian food connoisseur, but somehow I feel that there is still something lacking with their menu and the taste. My friend Ali said this place wasn’t the best, but it would suffice. I was satisfied with every meal I had, in fact always very full. And I will always love their lassi and Musaka.

Value for Money: 8/10 it’s not very expensive, but it ain’t that cheap either. That’s why when someone wants to eat there, it would be best to bring along some friends to divide the cost. The servings are also mostly good for groups of 2-3, so it would be impossible to finish everything when you’re alone.

Kebab

Service: 9/10 there’s not much to expect in this kind of restaurant, after all it’s not fast food. You’d always have to wait for a few minutes for it to be served. Tandoori at Parkmall and Persian Palate at Mango Square scores a 10 for me when it comes to service. and IT Park an 8. People from Mango Square are very accommodating.

Cleanliness and Ambiance: 9/10 Like my rating above, I’d always be partial to Parkmall because they have better ambiance.

No, that's not goo. It's the must-try chicken spinach curry

The place occupies two-stories, very Indian-inspired decor and a veranda, but one time their airconditioning unit was no good and it was summer so you’d have to ask for the electric fan to be facing you to cool off. All other branches look like small diners, except for IT park, which looks more like a bar on the outside with many kids drinking.

Like Persian Palate on Facebook!

Everything goes well with some nan

4 Responses to “Tandoori (Persian Palate)”

  1. Chyrel Gomez (@thechyrelgomez) August 27, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    I haven’t tried eating here pa gyud but I always drop by or visit the place. I would also like to recommend the sister resto or Persian, the one near Mango – Zyka. It’s near baseline and after dining there, you can have coffee in Cofifi since it’s just within the bend. You’re like hitting two birds in on stone. Haha! What I love with Zyka is their chicken biryani. That’s the only thing I order man pud and same with you, Chaka Khan btaw ang IT park branch. Small place, small choices.

    • kategracea August 31, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

      i wanted to try that! pero wala pa time.. grrrr but thanks for the insight!

  2. Marifi August 27, 2011 at 1:38 pm #

    tried Tandoori-Park Mall too….:) nindot! lami!

    • kategracea August 31, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

      hahaha i know girl! found out about it through my own experience. a good leap of faith

Leave a Reply

