Herbed Cream Dory With Lemon Butter Sauce

23 Oct

My own creation

Sundays were always my days to destress and one of my favorite hobbies is Cooking. Yes, I don’t just eat; I cook too. And I love to experiment. So, I found myself in Metro Ayala’s supermarket and I was looking at the freezer where the Cream Dory was displayed.

Fried Herbed Cream Dory

Who wouldn’t love its soft meat? But just when you think that this fish is so expensive, think again! I bought mine less than a kilo at PhP 120. That’s not bad considering I don’t have to clean it; it’s pre-packaged and filleted ready for cooking.

I was too excited for Sunday lunch that Saturday night I kept pacing back and forth. Now, if you knew me that well (my sister can attest to this) I’m very OC when it comes to cooking and I want to cook at that exact moment. I wouldn’t even care if it’s 12MN if I am in the mood. But still I tried my hardest to wait for Sunday lunch for me and my mom (showed off the fish to my Sister and dad on skype LOL).

There was this recipe on the internet I was eyeing on so I copied some of it and experimented on it. This recipe serves four 🙂

Ingredients:

  • 2 pcs Cream dory fillet
  • oil (deep fry)
  • bread crumbs – use the Japanese kind
  • 2 beaten eggs
  • basil leaves – i used the store bought dried leaves because it gave a lot of flavor and aroma. i infused some of my own fresh leaves of thai basil from the yard too!
  • salt (optional)

    Sauce - this one was actually a fail 🙂 too much lemon juice

Sauce:

  • 1 half lemon
  • mayonnaise
  • butter
  • evaporated milk
  • salt and pepper

Procedure:

  • Rub the dory with basil leaves. If you want to add more flavor, rub salt as well. Let it sit for about five to ten minutes. You can also marinate the fish with some soy sauce and some calamansi or half of the lemon.
  • Dip them in the eggs and bread them with your crumbs. If the basil leaves come off, add some as you bread them.
  • Pour oil on a NONSTICK pan, enough to deep fry the fish. (Mom’s tip: to give it a crunch, indulge yourself with more oil – DEEP FRY).
  • Fry the fish til golden brown. Set aside.
  • On a bowl, mix the mayonnaise, butter and evaporated milk.  Then add the lemon juice in slowly. Control the sourness of the sauce by adding in the juice little by little.
  • Pour into a pan on low heat and stir for a few mins. Don’t worry if the consistency is quite runny. Add salt and pepper to taste If you like it to be a little bit sweet, add sugar.
  • Cut into pieces. Serve

Enjoy!

6 Responses to “Herbed Cream Dory With Lemon Butter Sauce”

  1. marnie October 23, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    nice… im gonna try your recipe!! 🙂

    • kategracea October 23, 2011 at 10:46 am #

      marnie marn! 🙂 just go easy on the sauce because i play it by ear (or by taste) so it’s really up to you to get the right mix on the sauce. just don’t heat it for too long kay the mayonnaise separates

  2. Andrea|FeneLLa October 23, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    this looks yummy kate! =)

    • kategracea October 24, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

      awww andy thanks! it LOOKS yummy but I have to admit i messed this up the first time; both with the fish and the sauce.

      where i went wrong:
      i actually used two breading mix and the other one was crispy fry garlic flavor and I SWEAR i won’t use that anymore. The japanese breading mix is enough
      the sauce was too sour because i went on and poured in the juice of one lemon – which is WAAAYYYY sour than what i wanted to achieve
      still on the sauce, i cooked it too much so the oil separated from the rest of the mayonnaise
      and then i added too much basil leaves on the sauce as well. DRIED BASIL LEAVES have oils that only manifest themselves when cooked. so that’s why the sauce looked oily.

      cooking is just a matter of trial and error. you don’t get to make it right the first time. so i tell you, go ahead and try

  3. edna October 24, 2011 at 7:25 pm #

    i’ll try this ms kate

    • kategracea October 25, 2011 at 10:02 am #

      sure te! 🙂 go ahead and tell me how it goes. cream dory is cheap ra

Leave a Reply

