That Sudden Sugar Rush

4 Nov

To Give In or Not?

I know that posts are meant to be well thought about before posting but I am a lot hormonal now and there is just one main concept of food going round and round my mind. DESSERTS. I could have easily blamed it on Top Chef Just Desserts, but no there was no episode on air last night on my favorite channel. So, this could only be attributed to my love for desserts and some hormones.

If you look back through all my posts, I have three major go to places when it comes to desserts and one vendor for ultimately delicious and just-enough-fluff cupcakes. And I want to stuff myself in all things chocolatey and sugary, NOW. How I wish I could do that now, but all I can do is blog… blog about the best desserts that make me say “ooohhh” and “aaahh”.

Are you ready?

Number 5: French Toast Goodies at 30 Kitchen

French Toast at 30 Kitchen

I know it’s your regular breakfast food, but it sure is comfort food for me. There are too many flavors to mention that I couldn’t remember. All I could memorize was the sweet goodness of all flavors combined. And all that whipped cream won’t seem so bad when you’re done devouring these tasty breakfast treats at 30 Kitchen. Explore and let the flavors explode in your mouth.

Chocolate Fondue at Maitre Chocolatier

Number 4: Chocolate Fondue at Maitre Chocolatier at Ayala Terraces

Or it could be anything chocolatey… this place is the greatest authority in chocolates. It can be pricey, but it’s worth the try and indulgence. If you want to find your brand of chocolates you can’t find in the supermarket, you will find it there. Dip pre-cut fruits and what have you’s in oozing chocolate of your liking. You can even have spicy chocolate if you want (must try at least once in your life).

Number 3: Blueberry Cheesecake at Bittersweet Pastry Shop

Blueberry Cheesecake From Bittersweet Pastry Shop

My friends and I are always on the lookout for the right mix when it comes to blueberry cheesecakes. And yes, in a building across Cebu Doctor’s Hospital is the quiet and unassuming personal hideout – Bittersweet. It’s the next best thing (I’d still be biased to all things desserts at Shangrila Mactan’s Tides) for me. Their blueberry cheesecake is the right mix between sweet and salty with a little hint of tangy. You can see my review on Bittersweet here.

Warm Brownie Cup at La Marea Pastry Shop

Number 2: Warm Brownie Cup at La Marea Pastry Shop (Hands down)

This would have been on top had I not discovered a to-die-for dessert also concocted by another authority in Desserts – La Marea. If you want comfort food, this is your best buddy. My warm brownie cup and I have been through a lot for the past year. I build my own friendships around it and cried over past loves. But one thing remains the same, it’s the right sweetness and gooeyness of the brownie topped with the ice cream that completes the whole taste. It plays with your tongue being hot and cold at the same time. As you finish your bowl, you find yourself smiling and feeling better.

Finally, Number 1  on my list is the new craze to come to Cebu – Mochi Ice Cream at La Marea Pastry Shop

Mochi Ice Cream at La Marea Pastry Shop

I know ice cream is not an entire dessert, but in my book it is. My world seemed to revolve around Mochi Ice Cream when I first heard about it from a friend. From then on, I would crave for anything mochi, even my toppings on my favorite brand of yogurt ice cream. At La Marea they make it on their own. There’s a thin layer of Mochi covering home-made ice cream that’s just right for my palate. It’s available in different flavors – Chocolate, Mango, Strawberry, Green Tea, Yema/Brazo de Mercedes. I have mentioned this before on my past post and I’m still raving about it til now.

So that’s it, I gave in to my cravings the healthy way. But still there’s that need in me to devour all these five desserts in one sitting. Maybe one day in these coming weeks… 🙂

Leave a Reply

