And I’m back!

9 May

A view from inside the Grand Palace

Hey guys! Just came back a few days ago and I have so much to share to all of you: food, culture, travel. A whole lot of all those. This is actually my first time abroad and everyone in my family, including myself, felt very anxious since I was travelling alone. Thank God, I got there and got back safely. Or else I would not have anything to tell you guys LOL.

The Reclining Buddha at Wat Pho

Thailand is a country you must visit and save for if you’re into history. There is rich history there and a balance of old and new. You can go every few years and visit a different part because the whole country is just like ours, pretty much culturally diverse. What’s in Bangkok is just an introduction of what the whole country has to offer. Krung Thep, or Bangkok for us modernized citizens, is the capital city of the whole country. Its an east meets west kind of thing where you see the tourist district as something very historical but when you move to the other part of town, you’d be awed by bright lights, skyscrapers and store signs that are in different languages.

Golden Chedi at Wat Prathat Doi Suthep Chiang Mai

Like I said, Bangkok is just the tip of the iceberg. You move to another city, another area, you would taste and see a different aspect of their culture. A som tam (green papaya salad) in Krung Thep is entirely different in Issan (Eastern). BTW, my family lives in Issan so I didn’t have to worry much about getting the BEST tasting Som Tam in Thailand. When we went to Chiang Mai for a few days, a different taste  burst into my mouth – clearly depicting another culture.

at Wat Prathat Doi Suthep

Chiang Mai is in the Northern part of Thailand and it’s also one of the places that EVERY tourist should go to. You don’t really have to worry about being there and being scared that no one speaks English. It’s just as touristy as Bangkok, even more. There are several backpackers because of the COUNTLESS of attractions to discover; both historical and natural. I could just live in Chiang Mai – totally in love with it. It has the influence of the Lanna culture, which in my opinion is very much like the people of Northern Philippines as well – especially their arts and crafts.

Anyway, this is just an overview of the adventures I have had on my first visit to my Father’s homeland. Will keep you guys posted!

Sawadee ka

Leave a Reply

