Paradise in Cebu – Shangri la’s Mactan Island Resort & Spa

5 Sep
Shangri la's Mactan Island Resort and Spa

Shangri la’s Mactan Island Resort and Spa

Things have been very busy lately but I am having one of the best years of my life I think. Getting the new job and traveling at the same time was only the beginning. I had tons of opportunities this year I did not want pass up even if it meant I would leave some people behind. I thought to myself this was my life’s great adventure. It came a bit late, but it came anyway.

View at night

View at night

Since it has been raining a lot lately, all I could do at home (I’m still on a hiatus from work) is sit and stare at the pictures from the past months. I always scrolled back to this summer – one of my most memorable yet. It was when I started my new job, a chance to meet people from Iloilo and a chance to see beyond the paradise-like gates of the posh resort that is Shangri la’s Mactan Island Resort & Spa. This was before I got to the paradise that is Camotes (seen in this post).

If you are like me and you’re from Cebu, you’d think yeah they’re all the same. I’ve seen the beach fronts of BE Resorts and  Hilton, before it was acquired by Movenpick and way back before their improvements. They were nice but pretty standard to me back then. So, when the opportunity landed on my hands and I grabbed it even if it put me in a situation where I had to rush to work the next day.

The Gazebo on a Cliff

The Gazebo on a Cliff

It was a weekday, but it happened to be Labor Day; my sister and I had work the next day though so we couldn’t really go around and see much of the place together. We even hurriedly ate our breakfast 😦 But thanks to my new job, I was able to linger for a few hours and voila – I wandered through paradise, which I never got to see before beyond their main swimming pool. We stayed at the Ocean Wing which was the VIP area of the resort. Yep, we had access to some parts of the resort where no one could unless you’re checked-in in one of the suites there. It had better view, it was closer to the ocean and it had its own swimming pool in case it gets congested in the main pool. It also had its own lobby and the breakfast was served in a separate part of the resort.

So, I thought I would give homage to Shangri la on this post. I hope it would kind of make you guys think that you’d want to go there someday if your budget permits or if you guys get lucky as well. It’s a beautiful place. Cebu is beautiful and it has so many things and places left to be discovered. It is indeed more fun in Cebu 🙂 ENJOY!

I'm a sucker for Sunrise

I’m a sucker for Sunrise

The Ocean Wing Swimming Pool

The Ocean Wing Swimming Pool

The Pathway from the Garden to the Beach

The Pathway from the Garden to the Beach

Shangrila Mactan Shangrila Mactan Shangrila Mactan Shangrila Mactan Shangrila Mactan Shangrila Mactan Shangrila Cebu

The Garden

The Garden

Shangrila Mactan Shangrila Mactan

The Obligatory Selfie Shot

The Obligatory Selfie Shot

 

Ocean Wing Baby!

Ocean Wing Baby!

A little peek at the view from our room

A little peek at the view from our room

Our Suite

Our Suite

Disclaimer: NO, this is NOT a paid advertisement. AS IF THEY WOULD EVER DO THAT! If you guys should know I got to stay for one night through a friend who had the room booked for 4 nights and invited us to use it for one night. 🙂 So yeah again unbiased here!

4 Responses to “Paradise in Cebu – Shangri la’s Mactan Island Resort & Spa”

  1. michaelbencik December 14, 2014 at 11:40 pm #

    Love the blog! So much fun, if I make it back to Cebu I definitely will know where to eat. Mmmmm. Shangri la looks like paradise. Thanks for checking my blog out too.

    • kategracea December 14, 2014 at 11:45 pm #

      cebu’s full of wonder even to me and i hve lived here all my life. Thanks to u too! I love it when someone writes about the my beautiful island.

      • michaelbencik December 15, 2014 at 12:14 am #

        I feel like we did not even acratch the surface, bit we loved all we did. Malapscua will always be my idea of island Paradise.

      • kategracea December 15, 2014 at 12:15 am #

        Malapascua i have never even been there. If u like scuba diving there are a few more places y shud checkout.

Leave a Reply

